What is the full form of IPL ? Past & More Info in 2022!

The Indian Premier League is known by the abbreviation IPL. The Twenty-20 Cricket Indian Premier League is a competition.

The BCCI, officially known as the Board of Control of Cricket in India, is responsible for planning and organizing the Indian Premier League.

BCCI first appeared in 2008. Every year, the Indian Premier League is held there, featuring Twenty-20 cricket matches between several cricket teams. The league culminates in a championship game with the victorious team.

Cricket players are auctioned off to create the IPL teams. IPL’s inaugural season began on April 18, 2008. Rajasthan Royals won the first IPL season.


The Indian Premier League permits cricket players from other countries to participate in the competition in addition to Indian cricketers. The IPL teams, which contain both Indian and foreign players, represent various Indian states.

In order for a team to advance to the semifinals in the IPL, they must play fourteen matches against every other team at least twice. Teams receive points and run rates for each game, which determines which four teams advance to the IPL semifinals.

A professional Twenty-20 cricket league called the IPL is held annually from March to May. This IPL event is mostly played by eight teams each year, each of which represents one of India’s eight states.

The IPL’s Past

The Board of Control for Cricket in India, or BCCI, which also oversees the IPL each year, launched the Indian Premier League in 2007.

The Indian Premier League was created and established with the goal of luring a brand-new generation of sports fans to stadiums across the nation. The BCCI announced the start of the Indian Premier League, a franchise-based Twenty-0 cricket league, on September 13th, 2007.

IPL debuted in New Delhi in April 2008 as a prominent occasion. Lalit Modi, a vice president of the BCCI, is credited with creating the IPL, including its format, prize money, squad composition guidelines, franchise revenue scheme, and other specifics.

The appointment of a seven-person governing body, made up of BCCI executives and former Indian players, was also decided.

The concept of the Indian Premier League was similar to those of other premier leagues, such as the English Premier League and the American NBA.

Due to their involvement in a match-fixing and betting scam, the inaugural season champion team Rajasthan Royals and the two-time champion club Chennai Super Kings were both suspended from the IPL for the ensuing two seasons on June 14, 2015.

Pune and Rajkot were thus confirmed to replace Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for these two seasons on December 8th, 2015 at an auction. Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiant were the two new teams.

Read more: Urban Air Application: How to Apply at Urban Air Application?

IPL Regulations

  • The following are some key guidelines for IPL team composition:
  • There can be a maximum of four foreign players on an IPL team’s starting eleven rosters.
  • For Indian players who are from the area, there is no local quota.

There must be at least 16 players on an IPL team.

  • The IPL is open to cricket players who have competed in first-class or List A matches as well as Under-19 players.
  • The IPL games use television timeouts, so there is no time constraint on how long teams must play their innings.

Read more: Taz Credit Card: How Can I Log in With My Taz Credit Card?

Award for IPL

  • Four teams advance to the IPL semifinals and compete for the championship.
  • The Indian Premier League of that year is ultimately won by one team, who also receives the trophy and prize money.
  • Teams that win prizes are required to split the award money equally among their members.
  • The IPL champion receives a reward fund of about 200 million Indian rupees.
  • The winning teams receive about INR 125 million for the first place team and 80 million for the second place team.

Leave a Comment